Lisbon – The Unusual City

I wanted to visit Portugal for more than five years. When I joined a youth organization in Georgia – Youth Atlantic Treaty Association, I saw some members went to Lisbon on Seminar and that triggered my interest. YATA is an umbrella organization which covers 38 countries’ offices around the world. The experience that YATA Portugal provides is very special, as the seminar takes place on Naval or Air Military Bases. This year it was held in Naval Base, particularly at the Lisbon Naval School.

You can see all pictures in full size – just click or download it

Usually, I travel with my backpack, especially when I chose to do it with cheaper airlines. I found Wizz airlines from Kutaisi that provides transfer flight through Bucharest. That gave me extra two days to stay and explore some of Bucharest.

Herschel backpack

Kutaisi Airport and my backpack

I left for Lisbon in the morning of July 19th from Kutaisi. Flight to Bucharest took approx. two hours and from there to Lisbon it took four.

Lisboa Metro Map

Lisbon Metro Lines – Click the picture to see full size.

I arrived in Lisbon at 01:00 am on the 20th of July. I was amazed when I understood that you can take Metro to go to the city centre. The tickets are sold outside the airport, where you buy one card you can deposit your tickets. Card price is 0.50 EUR, and the ticket price is about 1.50 EUR. After arrival, I went to my Hostel to stay there for two days. Lisbon Top Hostel was quite a comfy place. It was close to Metro station and not far from the city centre.

Lisbon is very different from the other cities I had seen before. Every house, its doors and walls, streets or roads, even trams are very special. First, you are amazed and then you are full of will to take pictures of every detail.

A few of the metro stations are very beautiful with the mosaic walls.

Mosaic in Lisbon Metro

Mosaic art in Lisbon Metro

I started my journey from Bandeira de Portugal – Parque Eduardo VII and then went to Aqueduto das Águas Livres. Aqueturo is an open museum.

IMG_9294

Bandeira de Portugal – Parque Eduardo VII

After this, I wanted to remember where I went, but I could not. That day I just walked all day long. So, here are some photos which I took the 20th of July. I believe photos can tale you the story.

IMG_9337

IMG_9597

IMG_9579

Comércio Plaza

IMG_9574

Comércio Plaza

IMG_9559IMG_9539IMG_9523IMG_9512

IMG_9498

Botanical Garden Jardim Botânico da Universidade de Lisboa

IMG_9496

Botanical Garden Jardim Botânico da Universidade de Lisboa

IMG_9466IMG_9442IMG_9419IMG_9413IMG_0454IMG_0314

IMG_0301

On the 21st of  July, I went to Lisbon Naval Base to take part in the Portuguese Seminar.

20180722_124145

Naval School

One day we had a boat trip. It was amazing to see Lisbon from the river Tagus. From this point, you really feel the Lisbon.

IMG_9841

National Sanctuary of Christ the King

IMG_9865

Ponte 25 de Abril

IMG_9904

IMG_9917

Torre de Belém

IMG_9923

Padrão dos Descobrimentos

IMG_9948

Comércio Plaza

IMG_9955

IMG_9999

Ponte Vasco da Gama

Another day – a visit to the Portugees Parliament:

20180723_150441

Assembly of the Republic

One more day – at the beach of the Atlantic Ocean:20180725_145543

And into the Vessel:

IMG_0008

Lisbon Naval Base

IMG_9718

Lisbon Naval Base

And night Lisbon:

IMG_0333

Lisbon at night

IMG_0336

Lisbon at night

IMG_0341

Lisbon at night

There are a lot of churches and cathedrals which is worse seeing:

IMG_9591

Lisbon Cathedral

IMG_0281

Jerónimos Monastery

IMG_0291

Jerónimos Monastery

20180721_11512220180720_161030

The Lisbon doors make every house special. It reminded me of Old Tbilisi, where you can find beautiful doors, especially around Sololaki area.

 

The mosaics make every corner to look different and shine on the sun. You can find them everywhere – underground, road, house, street and etc.

 

At the end, I want to share some pictures of strangers. It was my first experience of photographing people. I tried to find the specific characters that could express the spirit of Lisbon.

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (1)

A Captain on the river Tagus

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (11)

A man smoking in the streets of Lisbon

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (16)

A staring man

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (14)

A woman smoking in the street of Lisbon

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (3)

A puppy is waiting

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (4)

A girl and two women on the bus station

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (2)

A guard

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (8)

Boys are resting

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (5)

A truck driver.

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (9)

Stairs and stare

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (6)

A postman in Lisbon

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (7)

Some Portuguese pensioner in the park

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (10)

A kiosk in Lisbon

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (17)

A sailor on river Tagus

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (12)

A bus station in Lisbon city centre

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (13)

A man hanging some decoration in the streets of Lisbon

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (15)

A priest

Lisbon People Rati Bakhtadze (18)

Sailors on the river Tagus

P.S. Please take into consideration that it is my first blog in English. I will be happy to get your comments and thoughts.

If you are going to use the pictures you can do it but only with my name.

© Rati Bakhtadze

 

დატოვე კომენტარი